Easy butterscotch tart

I am a firm believer that life’s too short to mess about making pastry which is why I buy Edler’s ready made pastry cases. Coming in at just under £1 each they’re probably similar cost wise to buying all the ingredients and making from scratch. So tasty and versitile they could be used for sweet or savoury tarts.

As the title would suggest I normally make butterscotch tart with butter but I really fancied one the other day and had no butter to hand only Flora Light and Flora Buttery. Both were  nearing their use by dates so I figured I had nothing to lose. I actually used a mixture of both so was really taking my chances but was delighted to find my butterscotch tart came out really well and tasted just as good as normal.

I have listed my recipe below. It’s so quick and easy and so indulgent. Hope you’ll give it a go.

  1. For butterscotch filling: Melt 160g butter in a pan over a low heat.
  2. Mix in 160g demerera sugar and stir until dissolved.
  3. Slowly add the milk and 40g flour, whisking as you do so until smooth.
  4. Heat mixture, whisking continuously until butterscotch coats the back of a spoon.
  5. Pour into pastry caseand allow to cool then refrigerate

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

